The Lord-Lieutenant would like to congratulate all those who have received honours in Her Majesty The Queen’s New Year Honours 2017.

Knights Batchelor (Kt)


          • Mr Antony BEEVOR (Kent). Military Historian and Author. For Services in support of Armed Forces Professional Development.
          • Mr David BEHAN CBE (Tunbridge Wells).  Chief Executive, Care Quality Commission.  For Services to Health and Care.
          • Mr Julian BRAZIER TD MP (Canterbury). Member of Parliament for Canterbury.  For Political and Public service.

The Most Honourable Order of the Bath

Companions of the Order of the Bath (CB)

          • Mr Peter FISH (Tunbridge Wells). Director General, Government Legal Department C and Legal Adviser, Home Office. For Legal Services to Government.

Most Excellent Order of the British Empire

Officer (OBE)

          • Mr Joe BADEN (Rochester).  Founder, Open Book Project.  For Services to Higher Education.
          • Ms Susan BAKER (Whitstable).  Director, Time to Change.  For Services to Mental Health.
          • Mrs Eleanor BRAZIL (Wrotham).  Children’s Services Commissioner, Slough.  For Services to Children’s Social Care.
          • Miss Sharon BROOME (Tonbridge).  Principal Forensic Investigator, Defence Science and Technology Laboratory.  For Services to Defence.
          • Dr Jonathan CLARK (Edenbridge).  Executive Headteacher, Beckmead Family of Schools, Croydon.  For Services to Children with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities.
          • Dr Gaynor JEFFERY (Sevenoaks).  Assistant Director, EU Consumer Policy, Department for Business Energy and Industrial Strategy.  For Services to Consumer Rights.
          • Ms Carol McCALL (Sevenoaks).  Head of Civil Contingency Communications, Cabinet Office.  For Services to Government Civil Contingency Preparation and Ceremonial Planning.
          • Mr Jonathan TIBBS (Tunbridge Wells).  Chairman, Jon Tibbs Associates Ltd.   For Services to International Trade and the Sports Sector.
          • Mrs Caroline WAKE (Tonbridge).  Head, UK Delegation, Channel Tunnel Safety Authority.  For Services to Transport Safety and the Community in Kent.

Member (MBE)

          • Mr Jonathan BLOOMER (Sevenoaks).  Lately Trustee and Honorary Treasurer, NSPCC. For Voluntary Services to Children and Young People.
          • Captain Donald COCKRILL (Faversham).  Secretary General, UK Maritime Pilots’ Association.  For Voluntary Services to Maritime Heritage and the Port Industry.
          • Mr Michael CONWAY (Sevenoaks).  Chief Executive Officer, FM Conway.  For Services to UK Construction, Infrastructure Support and Road Safety.
          • Mr Arjuna FERNANDO (Sevenoaks). Investor and Entrepreneur.  For Services to the Digital Economy.
          • Mrs Sharon HOLNESS (Folkestone).  For Voluntary Services through the National Police Memorial Day.
          • Dr Howard LEICESTER (Otford).  For Services to Improving Patient Services to the NHS.
          • Dr Cheryl MVULA (Whitstable).  For Services to Responsible Tourism, Community Development and Conservation in Kent and Africa.
          • Mr Thomas RANSLEY (Ashford).  For Services to Rowing.
          • Mr John SCHONER JP (Hythe).  For Services to the Community in Hythe, Kent.
          • Mr Robert SIMPSON (Eynsford).  Founder, Electrosonic.  For Services to the UK’s Audio-Visual Industry.
          • Ms Susannah TOWNSEND (Canterbury).  For Services to Hockey.
          • Mrs Louise UPTON (Canterbury).  Lately Foster Carer, Kent County Council.  For Services to Children.
          • Mr Ronald UPTON (Canterbury).  Lately Foster Carer, Kent County Council.  For Services to Children.
          • Mr Austin WALKER (Margate).  County Vice-President, Kent, Royal British Legion.   For Voluntary Services to Veterans and their Families.
          • Mrs Barbara WALSH (Gravesend).  Lately Case Officer, Cabinet Office.  For Services to Public Administration and to the Community in Kent.
          • Mr Ronald WOODWARD (Herne Bay).  For Services to Age UK and the Community in Herne Bay, Kent

Medallist (BEM)

          • Mr Prithipal Singh KANG (Gravesend).  For Services to Fire and Rescue Awareness and Community Cohesion in North Kent.
          • Mr Baljinder Singh RANA (Gravesend).  Chairman, Guru Nanak Football Club.  For Services to Football and Inclusion in Kent.
          • Mr William STUPPLES (Tenterden).  Armourer, Ministry of Defence. For Services to Army Training and Charitable Service.

Queen’s Fire Service Medal (QFSM)

          • Miss Ann MILLINGTON (Kent). Chief Executive, Kent Fire and Rescue Service.